About > UHR Executive


The Executive Committee, including the Chair, Treasurer and Secretary, meets every four months to formulate policy, plan activities and give strategic direction to the association. UHR is assisted by an Executive Director. We encourage sharing of information, contacts and good practice so please get in touch.

Upcoming Meetings

Exec Minutes and Papers

UHR members can download a summary of matters discussed at recent UHR Executive Committee Meetings.

UHR members can also download the following:


Executive Committee Members


Paul Boustead - Lancaster University - chair@uhr.ac.uk - in post until 30/09/2020


As part of our long-standing partnership with CUPA-HR, our US equivalent body, Paul was invited to attend the 2019 CUPA Conference in Denver, Colorado, where he presented on aspects of the work of UHR and of Lancaster University including the 50th Anniversary Lectureships scheme.

Vice Chairs

Sue Midha - Cardiff University - vicechair@uhr.ac.uk - in post to 30/09/2020


Joanne Marshall - University of Bradford - vicechair2@uhr.ac.uk - in post to 30/09/2021 



Jayne Billam - Nottingham Trent University - treasurer@uhr.ac.uk - in post to 30/09/2022



Margaret Ayers - Canterbury Christ Church University - secretary@uhr.ac.uk - in post to 30/09/2022



UHR Executive Director

Helen Scott - Universities Human Resources - helen@uhr.ac.uk


Other members

  • NE Chair - Joss Ivory (University of York)
  • South Chair - Julie Fryatt (University of Brighton)
  • Midlands Chair - Sarah Setchell (University of Derby)
  • SW Chair - Claire Buchanan (University of Bristol)
  • Scotland Chair - Pam Milne  (University of Dundee)
  • Wales Chair - Jane O’Rourke (University of Wales)
  • NW Chair - Frances Hewison (Manchester Metropolitan University)
  • M25 Chair - Naina Patel (University of the Arts, London)
  • Republic of Ireland Chair - Vacant

Nationally elected representatives

  • Duncan Barratt (University of Westminster) - to 30/09/2022
  • Mary Luckiram (City, University of London) - to 30/09/2021
  • Pete Gibbs (Glyndwr University) - to 30/09/2022
  • Lorna Walker (Royal College of Art) - to 30/09/2022








This site uses cookies and other tracking technologies to assist with navigation and your ability to provide feedback, analyse your use of the site and services and assist with our member communication efforts. Privacy Policy. Accept cookies Cookie Settings