About UHR

UHR is the professional organisation for Human Resources practitioners in the United Kingdom and Eire universities.

The association is divided into geographical areas, members of which meet several times a year to exchange news and disseminate best practice. Each area group nominates a member to serve on the Executive Committee, together with a number of directly elected representatives and officers.

The Executive Committee, including the Chair, Treasurer and Secretary, meets every four months to formulate policy, plan activities and give strategic direction to the association.  UHR is assisted by a part-time Executive Director.

A three day residential conference is held each year in the spring.

Development days are held throughout the year on topics such as employment law.

UHR works with associated bodies such as Universities UK , UCCEA and GuildHE to offer co-ordinated responses to consultations by bodies such as the Funding Councils and government, and to share information and best practice.

The Executive Committee currently comprises:

to 30/09/2018
Sandra Heidinger University of Strathclyde chair@uhr.ac.uk

Vice Chair
to 30/09/2019

Vice Chair

to 30/09/2018

Dean Morley

Paul Boustead

Royal College of Art

Lancaster University




to 30/09/2019 
Alex Killick Glasgow Caledonian University treasurer@uhr.ac.uk
to 30/09/2019
Margaret Ayers Queen Mary University of London secretary@uhr.ac.uk

Other members:

  • NE Chair: Joanne Marshall (University of Bradford)
  • South Chair: Andrea Thompson (SOuthampton SolentUniversity)
  • Midlands Chair: Jayne Billam (Nottingham Trent University)
  • SW Chair: Arlene Stone (Bath Spa University)
  • Scotland Chair: Christine Barr (University of Glasgow)
  • Wales Chair: Sue Midha (Cardiff University)
  • NW Chair: Andy Catterall (Liverpool Hope University)
  • M25 Chair: Dean Morley (Royal College of Art)
  • Republic of Ireland Chair: Tommy Foy (University of Limerick)

Nationally elected representatives

  • Duncan Barratt (University of Westminster) - to 30/09/2019
  • Alison Cross (Oxford Brookes University) - to 30/09/2018
  • Clare Curran (Durham University) - to 30/09/2019
  • Pete Gibbs (Glyndwr University) - to 30/09/2019


  • None at present

The Executive Director is Helen Scott, exec@uhr.ac.uk


Use the information on the Contact UHR page to get in touch about

  • general queries
  • conference bookings
  • website questions/problems
  • continuing professional development